Crazy Chicken Apron with Hand Embroidery

I found an old, hand-sewn apron a while back at a flea market and have been dying for a long time to use it as a pattern for a new one.  I finally got around to sewing it up at the end of the summer, and not long ago finished the hand embroidery.

I have to say that I am extremely proud of and surprised by this apron.  It was a lot more difficult to sew than I had planned for, and with the way I sew (no pattern, cutting jagged lines with huge, uneven seam allowances, winging it every step of the way), it’s a miracle that it turned out so well.  I really love the ruching at the bust.

The crazy chicken design that I used can be found… well poot, I forgot where I found that and can’t find it again!  I just free-handed the swirls.  This was my first attempt at hand embroidery and I really, really enjoyed doing it. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under sewing

3 responses to “Crazy Chicken Apron with Hand Embroidery

  1. CGCouture

    Oh! That is gorgeous! You wanna share your pattern? I’m especially impressed with your embroidery. It’s very cute, and while I’ve never done any embroidery myself, I think you did an excellent job on it. 🙂

  2. I love that!!! Very cute!`

  3. Pingback: I Have a New Addiction « Love Never Fails

Leave a Reply

